DILG Region 1 accorded the top performing DILG offices and LGUs during the Region 1 SubayBAYANI Awarding Ceremony held on 10 November 2022 at the EM Royalle Hotel and Beach Resort, San Juan La Union. The Heritage Province of Ilocos Sur landed 4th Placer among the Region 1 provinces garnering 82.84% average. Provincial Administrator Marlon Tagorda received the award on behalf of Governor Jerry Singson.

In addition, the ten Local Government Units (LGUs) of Ilocos Sur were also awarded Best LGU Implementers; they were as follows:

1st Placer: Cervantes

2nd Placer: Lidlidda

3rd Placer: Santiago

4th Placer: Banayoyo

5th Placer: San Juan

6th Placer: Santa Lucia

7th Placer: Sto. Domingo

8th Placer: Alilem

9th Placer: Burgos

10th Placer: San Ildefonso.

The awarding aims to recognize the efforts of the LGUs that had exhibit exemplary performance in transparency, accountability, good governance, and in the implementation of numerous projects with the utilization of the Local Government Support Fund.